Love for thy Genesis

Speak your mind, or lack thereof. There may occasionally be on-topic discussions.
Wooduck51

Love for thy Genesis

Post by Wooduck51 »

Today I spent some quality time with a soldering iron, periodically searing flesh, and slicing open my fingers, but it was worth it.

The story is that after traveling to the ends of the earth to find a 5 pin din plug, (which had to come in the form of a ps2/Din adapter) and purchasing a soldering iron, I started to build that which would bring life back into my Genesis: a Composite video cable.

Unfortunately all my skill with sharp things such as power saws and with hot things such as fire left me as I began my task. I began by slicing myself as I stripped the plastic cover from the ps2 adapter, no biggie, only a little blood. Then as I began soldering I experienced the pain of hot solder on flesh, blister-lishess! Anyway after about an hour of work, give or take,(I'm not experienced at all with soldering electronics, even something as simple as cords) I finished. It was not beautiful, an odd mutation of a thing, but when I plugged it in the minor amount of discomfort was worth it! For the first time I saw Sonic 2 clear as the moon on a crisp winter night; throwing all prophesy of Sonic's demise to the wind I settled down to enjoy some good ol' solid gaming. Then 30 seconds into Emerald Hill the Genesis died, it just stopped no power at all, what horror is this? one of the most accursed, a short in the adapter cord. Dammit, I spent 2 friggin weeks looking for the Din plug (yes I looked on Ebay, didn't want to pay 7 or 8 bucks for it) and now the adapter plug conks out. So now I have no way to enjoy my labor of love until I can snag another cord from my local second hand shop.

Anyway, did you ever make a Video cord for your Genesis? or do some other thing to resurrect an old console?

Bo
Drano Master

Post by Bo »